Man of the World 2018 pageant officially kicks off

Photos and text by: Anton Eder

The 30 official candidates of the Man of the World 2018 pageant were formally presented to the media and the public in a glittering opening ceremonies done at the plaza of Resorts World Manila in Pasay City yesterday, July 4.

The pageant is now on its second year.

The candidates, ranging from models to nurses, lawyer, and even a doctor, are all in the Philippines to celebrate the pageant’s motto Masculinity with Responsibility, and at the same time competing to be the face of the organization in its advocacy of empowering the youth through education further strengthened by tourism, cultural and heritage awareness.

The pageant’s co-project director Aski Pascual said that he is very happy to welcome all the candidates.

“We are proud the backgrounds of the candidates this year. This will be a very competitive batch.” Pascual added.

“I know that the judges will have a hard time finding the best man who can further boost the title. All of them are deserving to win the crown.” reigning Man of the World Mustafa Elizali of Egypt addressed to the press.

The reigning Man of the World Mustafa Elizali of Egypt onstage during the press presentation of Man of the World 2018 pageant.

Prior to being presented to the media individually, the candidates were featured in a fashion show featuring the collections of Edgar Jaranilla and Lemuel Rosos (swimwear designer) , Jhay Layson, Mark Dela Pena, Adam Balasa, DC Castro, Rafael Gonzalez, Jhong Yabo (fashion show designer), Olan Roque, Danna Santiago, Analiza Felix and Noel Inez (short’s designer). This showcase of Filipino fashion also look a glimpse of the candidates and how they are able to project on the runway. It was also a peep into the theme of this year’s pageant which celebrates everything Filipino-whether traditional or not, but definitely paying tribute to the creativity in Filipino fashion.

Some of the Man of the World 2018 candidates during the fashion show wearing the collections of Jhay Layson.

Kaung Htet Wai of Myanmar, Juan Carlos Cabrera Torres of Peru, Clint Karklins of the Philippines, Emmanuel Luiz of Nigeria and Cao Xuan Tai of Vietnam were selected by the press to won the Media’s Choice Award.

The winners of Media’s Choice Award.

From the Press Presentation, the candidates now start their hectic schedule of going though pre-pageant activities and competitions-not only in Quezon City, but also in Rizal, Tarlac, Nueva Ecija, Manila and finally San Juan City.

“Their schedule will be hectic, but it will definitely be memorable,” mentions PEPPS President Carlo Morris Galang.

“We want them to experience the best the Philippines has to offer- and why we are called the land where Asia wears its smile.” Galang added.

Coronation night will be held at the San Juan FilOil Flying V Arena on July 14, 2018 at 7 pm.

Get your tickets at TicketWorld. Call them at (+632) 891.9999.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial